The Reader Book Review 

Author: Traci  Chee    

Goodreads Description: A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone.

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.  

My Thoughts:  I was sent this book by Penguin Teen in exchange for an honest review. So first off when I received the book my jaw dropped at the cover, I mean how pretty is that? If I was wondering the book store this most definitely would have been a cover buy lol. Ok now the story was action packed from the beginning and not a dull moment thereafter. The authors pacing was good, also I enjoyed the world building. This story was completely different from any other book I have ever read and in this day and age that’s rather hard to do.

As a reader I liked how the magic system was based on books. Also the beauty in Sefia teaching herself to read, she didn’t get why her father was killed for this “object” or why Nin was taken, but once she learned to read a sentence she witnessed the magic. I mean it was genius because in reality isn’t that how we as bookworms feel? Once we start reading that’s when the magic happens.

The introduction of “The boy” was good because even though she rescued him in the beginning you quickly see how they help each other so it’s not one sided. From the moment she found him he was so mysterious you couldn’t help but feel as if he was another puzzle she had to figure out. I mean we don’t even know his name, when he is recounting from his perspective what happened when they met he calls himself boy.

I’m often skeptical of books that have multiple points of views but the author did a good job in making sure you connected with the main characters. Not only did I enjoy this advanced copy but I will actually be purchasing the edited copy when it’s released on September 13,2016. I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars and would definitely recommend it. Happy Reading Ya’ll!!!!!!

Author:

I love to read and to discover new books!!!

Leave a comment