The Reader Book Review 

Author: Traci  Chee    

Goodreads Description: A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone.

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.  

My Thoughts:  I was sent this book by Penguin Teen in exchange for an honest review. So first off when I received the book my jaw dropped at the cover, I mean how pretty is that? If I was wondering the book store this most definitely would have been a cover buy lol. Ok now the story was action packed from the beginning and not a dull moment thereafter. The authors pacing was good, also I enjoyed the world building. This story was completely different from any other book I have ever read and in this day and age that’s rather hard to do.

As a reader I liked how the magic system was based on books. Also the beauty in Sefia teaching herself to read, she didn’t get why her father was killed for this “object” or why Nin was taken, but once she learned to read a sentence she witnessed the magic. I mean it was genius because in reality isn’t that how we as bookworms feel? Once we start reading that’s when the magic happens.

The introduction of “The boy” was good because even though she rescued him in the beginning you quickly see how they help each other so it’s not one sided. From the moment she found him he was so mysterious you couldn’t help but feel as if he was another puzzle she had to figure out. I mean we don’t even know his name, when he is recounting from his perspective what happened when they met he calls himself boy.

I’m often skeptical of books that have multiple points of views but the author did a good job in making sure you connected with the main characters. Not only did I enjoy this advanced copy but I will actually be purchasing the edited copy when it’s released on September 13,2016. I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars and would definitely recommend it. Happy Reading Ya’ll!!!!!!

Advertisements

Love Delayed Book Review 

Author: Love Belvin 

Goodreads Description:What happens when Zoey Barrett, an ingenuous Princeton scholar, meets NBA All-star rocker-boy, Stenton Rogers? Zoey has her life all planned out. She’s working hard at her degree and to help her family stay afloat financially. 
Stenton’s at the top of his game on the court, but off, his life is out of bounds. That is until he happens upon Zoey, who represents something that he’s never had—family. Her world is spun completely out of control when they intersect. But could the lengths he decides to go destroy the future Stenton desperately intends to have with Zoey?

My Thoughts: This book was definitely steamier than what I’m used to lol If you do not like sex in your books this is not the book/series for you. With that being said I did enjoy the story and the sex scenes in my opinion were not there for shock value but actually had a point. I like how we started off in the present then the author took us back in time to find out how the characters ended up there. 

The pacing of the book was fast without making the story feel rushed. I read this book in 1 sitting and honestly felt like I was watching a movie. I couldn’t put it down because I had to know what happened next and also because I had no idea how much time has passed. As soon as I finished it downloaded book 2 and I’m currently reading it. I would recommend this book, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. Happy Reading Ya’ll!!!!

The Murder Complex Book Review

Author:  Lindsay Cummings 

Goodreads Description: An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.


Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.


The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?


Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

My Thoughts:  Well the 1st time I read the synopsis for this book was just now as I posted it for you lol. That’s right I went into this book completely blind…… I purchased this book for 2 reasons 1) The cover caught my eye. It’s so unique and simple 2) The title, how can there not be a good story behind a title like this? I was expecting a murder/mystery to my surprise and delight in got a dark dystopian.

I loved this book!!!! I literally devoured it in 1 day (I had a sick 6 yr old so the ebook kept me company all night) it was fast past and to me never a dull moment. Maybe it’s because I went in blind but I did not see any of the plot twist coming…..even now that I know what the book is about it still feel the author did a good job with keeping the reader on edge. 

If you like dystopian but you don’t mind a darker story then this is the book for you. This book earned 4.5 out of 5 stars from me. I would definitely recommend this book and I can’t wait to see what happens in book 2! Happy Reading Ya’ll!!!!!!

The Devil Inside Book Review

Author: Jenna Black 

Goodreads Description: Possession. Murder. Mayhem.

Let the games begin…


Exorcism isn’t a job, it’s a calling—and a curse. Just ask Morgan Kingsley, a woman who has a stronger aura than any Demon. Or so she thought. Now, in a pair of black leather pants and a kick-ass tattoo, Morgan is heading back to Philadelphia after a nasty little exorcism—and her life is about to be turned upside down… by the Demon that’s gotten inside her.


Not just any Demon. Six foot five inches of dark, delicious temptation, this one is to die for—that is, if he doesn’t get Morgan killed first. Because while some humans vilify Demons and others idolize them, Morgan’s Demon is leading a war of succession no human has ever imagined. For a woman trying to live a life, and hold on to the almost-perfect man, being possessed by a gorgeous rebel Demon will mean a wild ride of uninhibited thrills, shocking surprises, and pure, unadulterated terror.…

My Thoughts: I picked up this book thanks to a book club I’m in and if it wasn’t for those ladies I would have never read this because it was nowhere near my radar. I enjoyed the concept and the idea of such a strong female lead, however I found myself becoming very annoyed with Morgan. She was a bit naive and at times whiny, she did things without thinking only to realize her mistake minutes later. I just wanted to shake her at some points in the book. 

Even with her flaws I didn’t want to put down the book, simply because I needed to know what why and when. There are sex scenes in this book as well as S&M so if you cannot read about those things this isn’t a book for you. I did enjoy to of the “main” side characters and there relationship. All in all I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars and I will continue with the series. I’m hoping in the books to come we get some back story on why Morgan is the way she is because there has got to be more to her inability to trust and etc than “my parents liked my brother more than me”. 

Another thing that I did enjoy was the world. It’s set in “our world” but the fact that demons are accepted as a part of existence was interesting. There was really no “shadow world “. Have any of you read this book or the series? I don’t feel it’s very well known. I would recommend this if you are a fan of supernatural and don’t mind the sex scenes. 


Read-Em-All-A-Thon TBR

Hey ya’ll!!!!! I am participating in a read a thon that is based on Pokémon Go. Even if you don’t play the game this is a great way to crush your TBR and i like how it lasts for 3 weeks!!! The dates are Aug 14th – Sept 4th.  Here are the books I plan to read along with the challenges it completes. Let me know if any of you are participating!

Here is the link to the creators page https://readatmidnight.com/2016/07/25/pokemon-indigo-league-readthemallthon-sign-up/

Mistborn: The Final Empire Book Review 

Author: Brandon  Sanderson 

Goodreads Description: Brandon Sanderson, fantasy’s newest master tale spinner, author of the acclaimed debut Elantris, dares to turn a genre on its head by asking a simple question: What if the hero of prophecy fails? What kind of world results when the Dark Lord is in charge? The answer will be found in the Mistborn Trilogy, a saga of surprises and magical martial-arts action that begins in Mistborn.


For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. 

Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Only then does he reveal his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.

But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she’s a half-Skaa orphan, but she’s lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets, and gotten it. She will have to learn to trust, if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.


My Thoughts: I have been wanting to start another science fiction novel after the Name of the Wind and reviews led me to the Mistborn Trilogy. Boy am I glad they did!!! 

Brandon Sanderson’s writing is magical, his descriptions made me feel as if I was living in this world, and the way he exposed the reader to the magic system was not just dumping info, we were able to see how it works. It had me on the edge of my seat, made me mad, I awwwed during certain parts, cheered, and cried.

 I’ve already purchased the last 2 books in the series, if they are half as good as the 1st I will love them. I gave this book 5 out 5 stars and I would recommend to anyone who enjoys science fiction and even dystopian. Have any of you read this series? Happy Reading Ya’ll!!!!!



August TBR 

Here are the books that I plan to read this month. Do you have certain books you want to read? If you’ve read any of these I’d love to hear your thoughts. Happy Reading ya’ll!!!!!